Search Croquet Network
Recent Updates
Follow Croquet Network

Croquet Network Store
Get Email Updates (It's Free)
* indicates required
Croquet Twitter Feed
« Morning Coffee: Fletcher Wins Fourth Australian Open | Main | Morning Coffee: CWO Interviews Soo »

Morning Coffee: South Africa Rules GC

HANEKOM WINS WOMENS GCWC: Judith Hanekom from South Africa took down New Zealand's Jenny Clarke 7-3, 4-7, 5-7, 7-6, 7-5 to become the fifth holder of the WCF Women's Golf Croquet World Championship. The event played out the over the past week in Cairo, Egypt.

Fellow South African Reg Bamford holds the men's GC World Championship after also winning in Cairo in 2013. Bamford and Hanekom both played on the South African team for the GC World Team championship in 2012.

As a member of the recent New Zealand MacRobertson Shield Championship team and the winner of the Women's World AC Championship in 2012, Jenny Clarke came up just short in her bid to become the first croquet player to simultaneously hold three world titles.


Women's World Champions:

2005 - Hahed Hassan (EGY)
2007 - Iman El Faransawi (EGY)
2009 - Alix Verge (AUS)
2011 - Rachel Rowe (ENG)
2014 - Judith Hanekom (ZAF) 

THANKSGIVING CROQUET: USCA Nine Wicket Chairman Michael Rumbin has a piece on holiday style croquet on 9WicketCroquet.com.

MCA POSTSEASON CATCHUP: The Midwest Croquet Association website provides an update on member play for the offseason.

2014 MARYLAND SENIOR OLYMPICS: The Capital Gazette has a rundown on the recent Seniors and Masters events held in the Annapolis area and hosted by West River Wickets and the Ginger Cove retirement community. Twenty-four players participated in the event.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>