Search Croquet Network
USCA's Croquet News Magazine
Recent Updates
Follow Croquet Network

Croquet Network Store
Get Email Updates (It's Free)
* indicates required
Croquet Twitter Feed
« Soo: Chapman Crowned World Champion in New Zealand #10 | Main | Soo: No Time Limits Needed #09 »

Chapman is AC World Champion

Paddy Chapman found a way back from down 2-1 to claim his first WCF Association Croquet World Championship with a 26tp-19, 0-26tp, 0-26tp, 26tp-11, 26tp-9 win over Reg Bamford yesterday at Kelburn Municipal Croquet Club in Wellington, New Zealand. It was Chapman's second appearance in the final after he made it in 2013, but lost to Robert Fletcher. Bamford made his fifth appearance and is now 4-1 in AC World finals play.

Thanks to John-Paul Moberly and Christian Carter the vast majority of the final was live streamed for AC fans across the world. Despite Wifi challenges, the viewership reached just over 90 viewers at one point in the day.

2018 AC Worlds KO | AC Worlds Articles | Final Commentary | Clarke Photos | Soo Photos


Shield: Greg Fletcher 26-2, 26-16 over James Death
Bowl: Jonathan Powe 26-15, 26-1 over Stuart Lawrence
Plate: Stephen Morgan 26-1, 26tp-0 over Alain Giraud


1989 - Joe Hogan
1990 - Robert Fulford
1991 - John Walters
1992 - Robert Fulford
1994 - Robert Fulford
1995 - Chris Clarke
1997 - Robert Fulford
2001 - Reg Bamford
2002 - Robert Fulford
2005 - Reg Bamford
2008 - Chris Clarke
2009 - Reg Bamford
2012 - Reg Bamford
2013 - Robert Fletcher
2016 - Stephen Mulliner
2018 - Paddy Chapman

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments (2)

Just a thought, but the way the scoreline is reported it makes it seem as if Paddy won a Bof9 final 5-0. Traditionally the winners score should be listed first for every game in a match

February 11, 2018 | Unregistered CommenterSam

Correct ... typo on my part. Will fix it Thanks!

February 11, 2018 | Registered CommenterDylan

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>