Search Croquet Network
Recent Updates
Follow Croquet Network

Croquet Network Store
Get Email Updates (It's Free)
* indicates required
Croquet Twitter Feed


The Croquet Network States Shield started in 2016 as a golf croquet test between Kansas and Missouri. In 2017, Wisconsin and Illinois joined the competition to bring the event to four teams. Further expansion is planned for 2018.

The tests are comprised of three player teams organized by each state. The winning team is awarded the States Shield.


Primary mission is to get the sport of croquet visibility through spectator-friendly televised events that play on traditional state rivalries.

Internal to the world of US croquet players, the extension to that mission is to give players in the US test experience for better performance in world competions. While inherently creating a much broader playing base and financial support system. States Shield can expand to 32 states in a relatively short timeline, but the goal is to get to all 50 and invest back into the sport by building or ensuring there are croquet centers in all of those states. 



1. GAME TYPE: All games are 13-point, first to seven point games. No time limits. The winner of the test is the first team to reach six wins, but all four rounds should be played.

2. RULES: The games will follow the official WCF Golf Croquet Rulebook.

3. FORMAT: First round is doubles. That is followed by three rounds of singles where all three members of each team will face all three members of the opposing team. If after round four, the event is tied at 5-5. A extra doubles match will be played with the stipulation, that neither team can use the same doubles partners as in the first round. (For example, if a team played 1/2 in the first round, they must utilize their 2/3 or 1/3 doubles team in the extra round.

The extra round is only played when tied.

4. STARTING SIDE: The test alternates the starting side for each game based on the first game of each test. The starting side is determined by geography with eastern teams getting the start in game one in odd numbered years and western teams getting the start in even-numbered years.

For 2017, the preferred format is:

R1: Doubles (E is the starting team)

R2: W1 v E3, E1 vs W3, W2 vs E2

R3: E1 vs W2, W1 vs E2, E3 vs W3

R4: W2 vs E3, E2 vs W3, W1 vs E1

R5: *Doubles (E starts) (if necessary)

E = East, W = West. Underlined indicates starting side.

5. MODIFIED FORMAT: If the event is held on single court, the above format can be altered if both captains agree, but the format should always start with the doubles match and hold the second doubles as the extra round tiebreaker match. And the starting side should alternate. It is preferred to keep the 1 vs 1 matchup in the last round prior to the extra tiebreaker round.

6. ROSTER: Each team must name a roster by the roster date set by the event manager. Each team is allowed six players on the roster. A preliminary starting roster must be named five days prior to the scheduled round. This is for practical reasons related to setting up score software and event scheduling and promotion purposes. A change can be made prior to the actual start of a team test. Roster changes may not be made in the middle of the test except in the case of injury. A team may petition the event organizers for an in-test roster change.

Changes to the six-player roster between tests can be proposed by a team captain, but they must be presented to the committee of captains and can be approved by a majority vote.